Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Interesting to see Touch stalwart BJ Nilsen turning up on the soundtracks to films that star Kim Basinger. This is the LP release of I Am Here’s original score, in which Nilsen works alongside Icelandic composer Jóhann Jóhannsson (and wonderful cellist Hildur Guðnadóttir). Expect beautiful melodies and beautiful abstract textures in equal measure.

  • LP £14.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 150 ?
  • ASH111 / LP on Ash International
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


I Am Here by Johann Johannsson & BJ Nilsen
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 04 December 2014

Abstract composers Johann Johannsson and BJ Nilsen combine for a pretty sweet slow moving soundtrack for the film ‘I Am Here’ starring Kim Basinger. Its typical moody soundtrack fodder, the album starts out dark and uneasy with a sense of foreboding, the eerie atmosphere is broken by some steady piano hits and swirling, sweeping strings. Johannson is getting quite a reputation for this kind of stuff and its no wonder as he does it pretty well. The music moves at a snails pace, disappearing into the darkness and murk only to return with solemn strings leading the way. The same motif recurs throughout, making perfect sense on film but on record the variation is limited. However there are some subtle mood shifts that work effortlessly culminating in raucous noise before some operatic vocals are let loose for the final few minutes. These swirl and overlap to mesmerising effect. Very well put together.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.