Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Difficult to pin down debut album from Acolytes. With guest appearances from D. Aird (Vindicatrix) and D. Bolger (The Pheromoans), Acolytes mixes tribal rhythms with 8-bit bleeps and stop-start song structures to intriguing effect. If Ensemble Economique was born in London. Out on Vinyl LP from Alter.

  • LP £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • ALT19 / LP on Alter

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Acolytes by Acolytes
1 review. Add your own review.
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 12 December 2014

This is the first I’ve heard from Acolytes, an alias of London artist D Shan. I’m truly lost for words in describing this record. An album which veers schizophrenically from experimental indie / art-rock into cut-up tape music / musique concrete that at various points reminds of everything from Wire to Pierre Schaeffer and even some bizzaro mouth gurgling sounds you might expect to come from Schimpfluch Gruppe man Dave Phillips.

This is one of those records where you simply cannot anticipate where things will go. Unpredictable and oddball in the best possible way, it’s a rare example of how chucking in everything including the kitchen sink can actually work. I get the impression these tracks are constructed from both edited improvisations and an approach that’s been torn from the Scott Walker book of songwriting. Oh I ought to mention that Vindicatrix pops up on here and all.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.