Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Droney, folky, rainy - Inner Circle, Outer Circle is a concept album by Scottish artist Pefkin. Sometimes you walk into the woods and you have all these crazy adventures by yourself - or I do, at least. And then when you get back, you realize that all the things that happened to you were part of the same walk in the woods. And that, kids, is what this album is all about. Limited to 100 copies.

  • LP £13.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 140 ?
  • morc70 / Ltd LP on Morc. Edition of 100 copies
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Inner Circle, Outer Circle by Pefkin
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 20 November 2014

Its the curse of the modern day vinyl lover. Open it up and bits of paper fall out all over the floor. In a remarkable twist I was wondering just yesterday what had happened to Gayle Brogan, a sweet wee Scottish lassie I used to bump into from time to time who was one half of Scottish synth botherers Electroscope. Well lo and behold here she is with some remarkable new music.

It’s built out of gentle guitar loops with an ancient feel that makes it sound like it was mined and unearthed out of some hitherto ignored peat bog on a wild moor somewhere. Over the carefully looped guitar Brogan adds a wheezing melodica and her fractured, lovely vocals. The opening track is absolutely remarkable and comes across as a highlands raised Grouper. The second track is more of an experimental sound collage with eerie drones and treated vocals. Overleaf (and apologies, I can’t find song titles anywhere)  there’s another lovely gentle guitar evocation a la the first track. The folky guitar recalls Mick Turner’s splintered style and circles wonderfully around the swooping ethereal vocals.

The final piece harks back to the Electroscope days with oscillating Silver Apples synths providing a base for some gorgeously overlapped indistinct vocals which swoop and weave all over the track culminating in some seriously early Pink Floyd organ wandering.   This is really a hidden gem of a record, evocative and soothing in all the right places.  100 only.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.