Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Lucky John Grant got to perform with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra in October and now Bella Union are releasing the recording into the world. The double cd set features a range of his material rearranged with help from Fiona Brice (Placebo, not the newsreader) for this one-off event. The event was so one-off that the album precipitates a new tour - an orchestral collaboration with Royal Northern Sinfonia.

  • Double LP £23.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 240 ?
  • BELLA478V / 2LP on Bella Union.
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £7.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • BELLA478CD
  • BELLA478CD / 2CD on Bella Union

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


John Grant and the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra : Live in Concert by John Grant 2 reviews. Add your own review. 10/10
18 people love this record. Be the 19th!

10/10 Customer review, 19th December 2014

It's a shame there's no 11, 12 or 13 out of 10 option available! I cannot stop listening to this album and it is my favourite release of the year. I was lucky enough to attend the recording of this concert for 6Music, and it was a privilege. John Grant delivers heart felt songs anyway. But add an orchestra and he rips the coldest, stoniest heart to shreds.

Mostly orchestral versions of his Queen of Denmark album, but also good to hear a Czars' track too. However, an absolute highlight is Rachmaninoff's Prelude in C Sharp Minor, which segues beautifully and seamlessly into the deep bass synths of Pale Green Ghosts - phew! (to quote John himself).

An absolute essential live album and a must for any John Grant fan. It's just a shame there is no DVD (or vinyl) release, which shows John raving to Underworld's Born Slippy, as he waited to go live to Radcliffe & Maconie on the day! A sight to behold.

My highlights:

It's Easier


Pale Green Ghosts




Where Dreams Go To Die

9/10 Customer rating (no review), 9th April 2016




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.