Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Continuing his proclivity for the remix album, Charlatans front man and O.Genesis proprietor Tim Burgess is releasing a remix version of his 2014 Record Store Day release ‘Oh Men’. Remixes come from Stephen & Gillian from New Order who have now adopted the moniker The Other Two, alongside The Invisible Conga People and Carter Tutti. If 2013’s sonic mutilation of Burgess’ 2nd LP ‘Oh No I Love You’ is anything to go by (which accomplished the rare feat of surpassing the original) then ‘Oh Men (remixes)’ could well be similarly triumphant. 

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • 12" £6.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • OGEN073R
  • OGEN073R / Ltd 12" on O Genesis inc. Peaking Lights, Carter Tutti, Grumbling Fur, The Other Two and Invisible Conga People remixes. Edition of 500 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Tim Burgess - Oh Men (Remixes) - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Oh Men (Remixes) by Tim Burgess
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 06 February 2015

Lush, thick, vibrant and glowing bright amongst the dull mediocrity elsewhere. Incredibly impressive and full of life. Anyway, enough about Tim Burgess’s hair and onto this latest 12”, taken from his much admired ‘On No I Love You’ album.

Prolific twitter guy Tim has loads of celeb pals and enlists some of them here to rework his ‘Oh Men’ song. First up The Other Two (aka the Arthur Mullard and Hilda Baker of New Order Stephen Morris and Gillian Gilbert) electronify his music, adding in some dancing synths and programmed drums culminating in some sweet pop shapes. Peaking Lights haven’t done much for me since their excellent ‘936’ record. I miss the murk and this kind of digi dub doesn’t cut it. The fact that all remixers use Tim’s vocal track starts to grate by the time Grumbling Fur’s mix comes round, but they add some nice strings and sing some backing vocals of their own. Invisible Conga People kind of squash everything down and Carter Tutti do everything you’d expect them not to do by making a very sweet electronic ballad with lush vocals. Musically this is the best thing here for me. Lovely.  

Each mix taken on its own merits is pretty decent but due to the nature of the project this will be a samey listen when taken as a whole.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.