Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Angst-come-self-destruction from Throwing Muses. Purgatory / Paradise was realeased initially in 2013 but Happy Happy Birthday To Me have decided it needs to be on all mediums, including vinyl, cassette as well as CD. No zip-disk though. It's their first album in a decade and it sounds like what you'd expect - like a monged out Primal Scream. It also comes with a book & loads of arty stuff.

  • Double LP £20.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • HHBTM164
  • HHBTM164 / Ltd LP on Happy Happy Birthday To Me. Edition of 500 copies in gatefold tip-on sleeve
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Purgatory / Paradise by Throwing Muses 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

8/10 Customer review, 5th February 2015

I listened to it twice, all the way through, and was transfixed both times. Kristin's soothing voice coupled with amazing background music and fantastic, if sometimes poignant, lyrics make for a lovely album. 32 songs may seem like a lot, but a few of them are divided into separate parts, each part retaining the meaning of the song yet different in a beautiful way. My personal favourite is "Opiates", although "Sunray Venus" is cutting a close second. And although Hersh wrote all of these songs of her own volition - which is a total deviation from her traditional path - they don't lose the Hershiness that her fans love.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.