Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Minimal funk-punk from Nottingham's Rattle. Rattle EP is a lesson in creativity and effective repetition. The female duo utilise minimal instrumentation and simple layered vocals to make abstract grooves with a disjointed propulsion. Think art-school-post-weed drum circle - in a good way. Out on 7" vinyl from I Own You Records.

  • 7" £4.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.60 ?
  • NormanPoints: 50 ?
  • OWN0002 / White vinyl 7" on I Own You Records
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Rattle EP by Rattle 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

7/10 Staff review, 14 November 2014

I wanted Brian to review this but he’s off with a stomach knack. Shame as he’d have loved it. What we have is minimal punk-funk from people out of Kogumaza and Fists. Based around drums, the band add wordless vocals, chanting, hollering  and very little else to their sonic pile but it seems to exist from the same dna that made minimal punkers like ESG and The Raincoats so special. There are four tracks, all of which are very simply constructed using duelling drums, some have singing but its generally repeated phrases and wordless hums creating interesting atmospheres that prove the adage less is more.  Its like the worlds coolest drum circle.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.