Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Searching mood variations from Sound of Yell (aka Stevie Jones), on their new self-titled record. Exploring the textured and timbral effects of acoustic instruments, Sound of Yell takes you on a sonic folksy voyage. At times akin to Sufjan Steven's orchestrations, whilst juxtaposed Radiohead's dark angst, SoY is an intriguing listen. Out on vinyl LP and CD on Chemikal Underground.

  • LP £14.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 150 ?
  • CHEM215 / 180g vinyl LP on Chemikal Underground
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £9.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CHEM215CD
  • CHEM215CD / CD on Chemikal Underground

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Sound of Yell by Sound of Yell 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

8/10 Staff review, 13 November 2014

Sound Of Yell are yet another addition to Glasgow’s reputation as a hotbed of musical talent. The Glasgow collective explore the spaces between folk and jazz, and are led by the ever-productive Stevie Jones of Belle & Sebastian, alongside some of Glasgow’s finest musicians and Jackson’s renowned contemporaries including Teenage Fanclub’s Norman Blake and Trembling Bells’ Alex Neilson.

The first of many projects that Stevie has produced, written and arranged - ‘Broken Spectre’ is the ensemble’s debut LP, and it’s laden with rich, textured compositions that are both versatile and fluent, with a vast array of instruments contributing to its textured, traditionally folk-y sound, including flute, violin, cello and acoustic guitar.

The results are intriguing: the dark, dramatic orchestrations find common ground with Sufjan Stevens’ experimental folk, while the ebbing, flowing swell of each track is akin to that of the ocean, which is apt considering ‘Broken Spectre’ derives from the body of water surrounding the Shetland isles.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.