Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Silber /
  • Add yellow6 to your favourites
  • Add Silber to your favourites
1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

All those genres that make you dream on and feel eternally blissful, meshed into one friendly record. 'Closer To The Sea Without Moving' is their seventeenth fucking album, and they've still got their heads fixed on straight and their minds at ease: their collage of post-rock, ambient, shoegaze et al is back for another meditative inning.

  • CD £9.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / Ltd CD on Silber. Edition of 150 copies in screen printed gatefold sleeve

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for yellow6 - Closer To The Sea Without Moving - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Closer To The Sea Without Moving by yellow6
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 ReviewBot300 Staff review, 21 October 2014

Workaholic ambient/post-rock type Yellow6, known to his friends as Jon Attwood, went on holiday this summer to Happisburgh (pronounced 'Hazeborough') on the Norfolk coast, staying in a lighthouse cottage with views out to sea. It was in this beautiful but desolate landscape of wheat fields and coastal erosion that much of the material contained on 'Closer To The Sea Without Moving' was put together. The imagery surrounding that place is noticeable all over this album, from the song titles, only two of which don't refer to being by the sea, to the booklet of photographs of lapping waves and tumbledown structures that's found in the lovely screenprinted sleeve.

An apt setting for the windswept and solitary music contained within. It's pretty much business as usual for Attwood - a bit of delicate post-rocky guitar here, a bit of heartbreaky piano tinkling there, lots of graceful melodies and the occasional passage of droney lo-fi ambience. I'm particularly enjoying the first two of the five-part 'Closer to the Sea' suite; the former establishing a mournful piano theme before the second picks it up on electric guitar with some subtle drum machine touches and heartstring-tugging slo-mo Hank Marvin shapes slowly building into the album's most post-rockin' crescendo full of aching glissando shimmers and neon feedback trails building to a cathartic fuzzed out climax. For the most part, though, it's pretty gentle stuff; wistful and melodic instrumental business as usual.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.