Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 8 people love this record: be the 9th!

Known for his furious live shows, his battered electronics and his heartbroken, buried under vocals, Alex Zhang Hungtai makes some of the most forceful and emotive experimental works out there. His last record under the Dirty Beaches alias was the double record 'Drifters / Love Is The Devil', which showed two flips of his creative coin: on one side, he showed a krautish and brooding electronic approach to pop songs, while on the other he created ancient-sounding instrumental soundscapes. 'Stateless', his follow-up, continues to explore the instrumental side of Hungtai's work, conveying the sense of displacement felt while travelling between everywhere under the sun.

  • CD £12.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7-28 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 130 ?
  • ZM022CD / CD on Zoo Music

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7-28 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £20.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • ZM022
  • ZM022 / LP on Zoo Music

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Dirty Beaches - Stateless - wanna see 'em?


Stateless by Dirty Beaches
1 review. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
8/10 Hayley Staff review, 13 November 2014

Canadian musician Alex Zhang, aka Dirty Beaches, is back with a new instrumental LP and he’s come a long way since his 2011 breakthrough ‘Badlands’. Since then, his music has been more about the constant sense of dislocation and isolation, not more so than his sixth studio album ‘Stateless’.

His previous LPs have always captured the homesick listlessness of travelling and globe-trotting, particularly his electro-infused 2013 album ‘Drifters’ and its sonic counterpart ‘Love Is The Devil’, but with ‘Stateless’ the feeling of disorientation and disconnect from the world prevails. While ‘Love Is The Devil’ sounds like a series of snapshots of far-away locales, ‘Stateless’ sounds like its eerie, juxtaposed counterpart: imagine waking up and not knowing who-or where- you are.

The results are emotive and affecting, as Zhang continues to explore his more experimental tendencies with these brooding instrumental soundscapes. It would make a perfect soundtrack to a tragic road movie, as the protagonists alter their perspective of their everyday lives along the way.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.