Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 4 people love this record: be the 5th!

Houndstooth makes way for their old friends Soft as Snow, a duo whose name doesn't quite fit with the next-generation, sci-fi sounds they bring to their electro-pop. 'Glass Body Remixed' takes one of their prime cuts and reroutes it twice; first, Lucy of Stroboscopic Artefacts unleashes it onto the floor, and then Factory Floor's Gabe Gurnsey extends it and sustains it into a gruesome acid jam, 'til there's nothing left. 

  • 12" £5.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 60 ?
  • HTH032 / 180g vinyl 12" on Houndstooth inc. Lucy, Maria Minerva, Factory Floor and Gang Gang Dance folks remixes

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Glass Body Remixed by Soft as Snow
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
7/10 Laurie Staff review, 30 October 2014

Here we have Houndstooth throwing Soft as Snow’s gothic 12” Glass Body to the, er, remix hounds. This time the teeth are definitely sharp, with the likes of Lucy from the dank Stroboscopic Artefacts and Factory Floor’s Gabe Gurnsey among others reworking the originals.

Lucy’s remix of ‘Halo Heart’ is actually surprisingly standard for the SA label, providing some hard but functional drum loops over a throbbing bassline. The Norman hifi definitely doesn’t do this one justice - where are the 18” bass bins, man? Looks like we’ll have to go speaker shopping soon just for techno reviews. Things get a little glitchier when Brian Degraw alters ‘All Our Beasts’ so that it becomes a more chilled out but funky listen, displaying the first signs of melody with some rare pads and a percussive bass bouncing around scales much like a Fela track.

On to side B, so on to a new paragraph of course. Gabe Gurnsey has got Ian clicking along, who may require a slapping so that I can actually hear the bloody thing. A wobbly acid bass is the centrepiece here, bouncing about like a hallucinogenic space hopper. The rest is all skittering hi hats and breathy vocal chops, you get the picture, this one is purely made for getting bodies moving - think Funkineven’s latest offering with Jay Daniel. The final rework by Estonian Maria Minerva makes heavy use of the original strings and vocals of ‘Black Birds’ to build some surreal dance-pop that acts as a rather calming end to the 12”.

As a whole, this collection provides a lot more dancefloor-friendly fun than the originals as you’d expect from a good remix EP, and despite Lucy’s slightly weak interpretation contains some interesting tunes.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.