Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

2 reviews | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Arcing Seas continues to descend further into the minimal waters with 'Converging Prey, a record of consistent beatwork and barely-audible looping melodies that pretty much never let up. This is straight-and-narrow techno for fans of the genre's purity and potency when it follows all the usual rules. 

  • 12" £6.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 70 ?
  • OCS012 / 12" on Our Circula Sound
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Converging Prey by Arcing Seas
2 reviews. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
7/10 Laurie Staff review, 16 October 2014

It's got a lot colder in the office, but I'm not sure if it's the faded summer or the sepia cover and music of Berlin label's Our Circula Sound's latest release. In fact, this is a canny pairing of environments both sonic and thermal.

The mysterious German Arcing Seas' second release sees them/it dropping distant looped clangs on top of a thumping monster kick. You know that obsession with playing random resonant objects with a bow? Maybe that's just me, but it seems that AS has been searching scrapyards for rusting hulks to fill in for the cello resulting in slightly deranged swells, particularly underneath the relatively static groove of 'Incal' on side B, accompanied by some weird snarly stuff. On the subject of weird, there's this sort of 'laughing hyena' synth throughout the last one that really does sound like a disturbed pack of animals - it's techno, it's got to be primal.

Some great feedback tones appear on occasion, but these side B tunes don't quite have the development required for this 'big' style. The track found on side A is much more varied, including little perc flams carefully placed alongside the growl of the kick/bass powerduo. I won't make a joke about power trios because that's not very techno. Anyway, I'd view this as an exceptional side A but with the Bs as bonuses - still a great all round release.

7/10 Turgay Customer rating (no review), 23rd January 2018



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.