Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Thrill Jockey / THRILL374CD / THRILL374LP
  • Add Thrill Jockey to your favourites
1 review | 16 people love this record: be the 17th!

Neo-classical meets electronic on 'Slant of Light', a collaboration between two artists in different experimental disciplines. Jeff Zeigler utilises synths and guitars, and is accompanied in the composing department by harpist and ambient musician Marry Lattimore. She serves as the melodic bedrock for Zeigler's heady, layered works.

  • CD £11.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 120 ?
  • THRILL374CD / CD on Thrill Jockey

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £14.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • THRILL374LP / LP on Thrill Jockey
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Mary Lattimore & Jeff Zeigler - Slant Of Light - wanna see 'em?


Slant Of Light by Mary Lattimore & Jeff Zeigler
1 review. Add your own review.
16 people love this record. Be the 17th!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 19 September 2014

This is one of those collaborative ambient albums that just seems to kinetically work despite the variations in the disciplines of the people who came together to make it.

Mary Lattimore is a harpist who has collaborated with Kurt Vile, Meg Baird, Jarvis Cocker, Thurston Moore amongst others,  Jeff Ziegler is a recording engineer who has worked with War on Drugs, A Sunny Day in Glasgow and his own group Arc in Round. When they met it was not “moider” but instead culminated in a delightful four tracks of harp led ambience recorded in a snowstorm. The opening piece ‘Welsh Corgi’s’ in the Snow' is the prettiest piece on offer with gently rolling harp joined by ambient washes out sound and what sounds like a melodica. There’s a glistening, spectral feel to the pieces, on ‘The White Balloon’ the harp is joined by heavily treated guitar and shards of distant feedback. Things get more dissonant on the final two tracks, ‘Echo Sounder’ is a droning piece with the harp less prominent, the closing ‘Tomorrow is a Million Years’ is more in music concrete territory with eerie drones and random plucking from the harp.

I’d have preferred the album to stay with the tuneful, soothing pieces at the start of the record. My theory generally being that its an easy get out to create discordant walls of noise but coming up with something using melody and which will move the listener is much more of an achievement.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.