Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Death From Above 1979 still exist! 'The Physical World' is the first record in ten whole years from the dance-punk elephants, and continues where they left off: a ridiculous amount of sounds are packed in by Jesse F. Keeler, who keeps songs jumping through hoops -- from no frills punk into ditties of piano and splashes of synth -- while Sebastian Grainger continues to pummel his drumkit into rubble. The first good time to be had in a decade. 

  • CD £11.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 120 ?
  • 3795673 / CD on Fiction

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £21.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • 3795674
  • 3795674 / LP on Fiction in die-cut sleeve
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


The Physical World by Death From Above 1979 1 review. Add your own review. 5/10
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

5/10 Customer review, 1st October 2014

DFA 1979's debut album was a truly exciting thing when it was released ten years ago, but this belated follow up, whilst by no means a bad record, is a sad disappointment. Back in 2004, a two piece band with pounding drums and bluesy licks seemed pretty unusual, nowadays it is such a commonplace that a three piece band seems as profligately over-manned as the bar of the Rover's Return. Most of the modern two pieces (Drenge, Royal Blood etc) have tended to follow a more traditional 'rockist' template, but what made DFA 1979 interesting was the intersection between those elements and their electronica/dance music influences.

You would have thought (and hoped) that they would have emphasised that part of their sound in order to stand out from the crowd in 2014. Sadly, they've done the opposite and produced a very traditional sounding Rock album. It's got a decent songs and a pleasingly crunchy sound but is resoundingly forgettable. I doubt we would be paying it much attention if it was 'to for the quality of that debut.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.