Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 8 people love this record: be the 9th!

Mexican garage rockers Le Butcherettes are back for more screaming and fussing, with their second record to date, 'Cry Is For The Flies'. The record offers eleven rapid-fire tunes with basic rock tactics and the venomous vocals of Teri Gender Bender. 'Cry Is For The Flies' is another ferocious, bumpy ride that incorporates distinctly dissonant moments, but is characterised by melodic hooks and a refusal to go quietly.

  • CD £7.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 80 ?
  • IPC161CD / CD on Ipecac

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £15.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • IPC161LP
  • IPC161LP / LP on Ipecac

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Le Butcherettes - Cry Is For The Flies - wanna see 'em?


Cry Is For The Flies by Le Butcherettes
1 review. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
8/10 Mike Staff review, 29 September 2014

Also known for fronting Omar Rodriguez-Lopez's latest outfit Bosnian Rainbows, Teri Gender Bender is back with another Le Butcherettes album, their second following 2011's 'Sin Sin Sin'. Originally formed in Guadalajara in 2007, this project seems to have something of a rotating line-up, sometimes a duo, sometimes a trio...past alumni have included The Locust's Gabe Serbian and Hella/Broken Bells bassist Jonathan Hischke. 'Cry Is For The Flies' was produced by O-Rod himself, who also joins the current line-up of Gender Bender and drummer Lia Braswell on bass throughout. Henry Rollins does a bit of talking and Shirley Manson does a bit of singing too.

They're rocking a slinky, driving rock sound with hard-hitting drums and a mixture of synth and guitar led pieces. Of the synthy numbers I'm really enjoying 'Boulders Love Over Layers of Rock' and opener 'Burn The Scab' which have a jerky Devo-ish feel to the keyboards and some soaring Karen O-ish vocals (comparisons to the Yeah Yeah Yeahs singer are hard to avoid) but there's a slightly gothy gritted-teeth tension that brings to mind The Kills, The Cure or even Zola Jesus, while the peppier 'Poet From Nowhere' has a more riot grrrl/X-Ray Spex-ish angle. When they're hitting the guitars on numbers like 'The Gold Chair Ate The Fireman' and 'Normal, You Were' the sound is much grungier and slightly PJ Harvey-esque, Teri's soaring vocals buffeted an economically arranged wall of whitewater guitar crunch, clanking bass and bombastic percussion. A solid effort - fans of Yeah Yeah Yeahs and The Kills, pay attention.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.