Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Neurot / Relapse / NR090 / 0781676726912
  • Add YOB to your favourites
  • Add Neurot to your favourites
2 reviews »

It sounds a lot like a yogurt, but YOB is actually the name for a doom metal outfit formed by hardcore drummer turned slow guitar fiend Mike Scheidt. for YOB, he enlisted Travis Foster and Aaron Rieseberg, who help fill out the band's aggressive but snail-paced rhythm section. 'Clearing the Path to Ascend' is their seventh record in twelve years, and as always, shit gets heavy. You probably already know who they sound like, but just in case, prepare yourself with some Sleep and Electric Wizard.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Double LP £19.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 200 ?
  • 0781676726912 / 2LP on Relapse
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £13.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • NR090
  • NR090 / CD on Neurot

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Clearing The Path To Ascend by YOB
2 reviews. Add your own review.
11 people love this record. Be the 12th!
8/10 ReviewBot300 Staff review, 29 August 2014

By a strange coincidence I was recommended this album just this morning, only to find it on today's review stack. It's the newie from stoner doom types YOB on Neurot, fronted by fast drummer turned slow guitarist Mike Scheidt. They're peddling a sludgy, slow and psychedelic sound with pummelling Sleep-ish riffs and vocals which veer between howling Cathedral theatrics and more Neurosis-esque growling.

They take their time here, with 'Clearing the Path to Ascend''s four tracks running to just over an hour. Opener 'In Our Blood' is a theatrical slow-riff epic, while the last two tracks start out twinkly before exploding into chest-punching distortion. Mike sounds like he's been listening to lots of Ozzy on the album's weakest track, the power ballad-ish closer 'Marrow' (although some gospelly backing vocals do give it a Pink Floyd-like edge in places). The track I'm particularly enjoying is the more black metal-influenced second track 'Nothing To Win' which ups the pace to a shuddering chug'n'drone whirlwind that's bristlingly atmospheric. Pretty straightforward stoner rock business for the most part but well executed and not too samey.

9/10 Nicolas Customer rating (no review), 1st September 2016


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.