Flowers are a trio from London who make sparse and often noisy songs that usually follow the golden twee pop rule: a song over three minutes is a song too long. Fronted by Rachel Kenedy's vocals -- which resemble the belted and intentioned performance of London Grammar's Hannah Reid -- Flowers' debut record mixes understated, melancholic guitar pop with the grand climaxes expected of a band who claim to be inspired by Madonna.



  • Young
  • Forget The Fall
  • Drag Me Down
  • Worn Out Shoes
  • Lonely
  • Joanna
  • If I Tell You
  • Comfort
  • I Love You
  • All Over Again
  • Anna
  • Be With You
  • Plastic Jane
  • Stuck

Vinyl LP £12.99 FPOP164LP

Heavyweight vinyl LP on Fortuna POP!.

  • Includes download code
This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier. Currently ships in 5-7 days but delays are possible.

CD £10.99 FPOP164CD

CD on Fortuna POP!.

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier. Currently ships in 5-7 days but delays are possible.


Do What You Want To, Its What You Should Do by Flowers
1 review. Write a review for us »
6/10 Clinton 10 September 2014

The first track on un-googleable indie-poppers Flowers debut album on Fortuna Pop is proof if ever it were needed that the music industry isn’t as 'voice-ist' as people may suggest. Singer Rachel’s voice, let's face it, is somewhat of a struggle. High-pitched bordering on shrill it circles around a track very much in the vein of the weep-athons made by the likes of Daughter if a little more shambling indie-ish. My ears are hurting so I’ll have to move on. Its a good job I did because ‘Forget the Fall’ is much more appealing. The vocal this time can be heard by humans as well as dogs and its a chirpy, chipper indie pop tune that’s akin to throwing yourself into a vat of marshmallows  - all jangly guitars and sing-a-long pop choruses.

So far, so Amelia Fletcher. The strummy C86 isms continue on ‘Drag Me Down’ with some clipped Orange Juice type strumming and buzzing synths but by ‘Worn Out Shoes’ the vocals have returned to their higher register, the frequency clashing with something in my ear, a shame really as  the music is perky enough to whet my pallette. Dangerously tuneful, any of these songs could have come straight off the ‘Corrupt Postman’ compilations from back in the day but.....there’s a bit too much balladry for my liking and if your ears, like mine, clash with the voice there’s no chance is there? Will appeal to fans of Heavenly, ‘Allo Darlin’ and the Wedding Present. Simple unpretentious indie pop.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.