Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

The Safe Distance are an international, oddball-pop supergroup featuring Crayola on vocals and guitar (Sarandon / A Witness, UK), David Nichols on drums, (Cannanes / Huon, Australia), and Stewart Anderson on bass and organ (Boyracer etc, USA). Their latest 4 track, 7’’ EP lies at the power pop end of the C86 spectrum and includes bonus downloads of covers by Adam and the Ants, Hawkwind and Bogshed.

  • 7" £4.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.60 ?
  • NormanPoints: 45 ?
  • ER-07 / Ltd coloured vinyl 7" + 10 track download on Emotional Response. Edition of 100 copies
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Songs EP by The Safe Distance
1 review. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
8/10 Mike Staff review, 13 August 2014

My fourth and final Emotional Response 7" for the day is from wonky indie popsters The Safe Distance, notable for the fact that they all live on different continents and have played in good bands already. Stew from Boyracer is here of course, on bass and organ, while Crayola (Sarandon/A Witness) sings and plays guitar and the Cannanes' David Nichols whacks the skins. This four song 7" comes complete with a 10-song download which includes covers of Hawkwind and Adam and the Ants.

It's certainly the most unusual of the singles I've heard from this label today, with Hockney-referencing opener 'A Bigger Splash' featuring a wonky stumbling groove while breathy vocals and Beefheart-wah guitar do a twee/skronk call and response. You'll be pleased to hear that there's a song with handclaps too, 'Hey You!', bringing the tally to a full four out of four. I like this. Good solid quirk-pop which tempers its awkwardness with a quite full-sounding and catchy aesthetic.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.