Spoon are an indie rock band from Texas known for crafting groovy, sly and unpretentious songs and releasing a slew of consistent guitar rock records. They're fronted by songwriter Britt Daniel, who uses similar vocal formalities as the National's Matt Berninger and the Walkmen's Hamilton Leithauser but in songs with sprier, quicker melodies. 'They Want My Soul', released on Anti-Records through Europe, is their first record in four years and their eighth overall; singles released from it so far include the snarling percussive rock of "Rent I Pay" and the relentless pop jam "Do You". Both hint at more of the same band who made the infectious guitar records 'Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga' and 'Transference'. 


  • Rent I Pay
  • Inside Out
  • Rainy Taxi
  • Do You
  • Knock Knock Knock
  • Outlier
  • They Want My Soul
  • I Just Don't Understand
  • Let Me Be Mine
  • New York Kiss

Vinyl LP £16.99 8714092737714

LP on Anti.

Sold out.

CD £8.99 8714092737721

CD on Anti.

Sold out.



They Want My Soul by Spoon
1 review. Write a review for us »
8/10 ReviewBot3000 31 July 2014

Spoon are back! I'm not sure what Britt Daniel did to deserve the comparison to dreary-but-popular indie dirgers The National in the press release though - these guys have always been much more bright, upbeat and melodic than those misery-meisters. Those who are already familiar with the band won't be surprised to learn it's business as usual on 'They Want My Soul', a collection of chunky but economically arranged pop songs based around the band's guitar/bass/keys/drums formation.

It's a thoroughly charming sound this lot peddle, best realised on early '00s LPs 'Girls Can Tell' and 'Kill The Moonlight'; nice bouncy grooves, irresistibly catchy pop hooks and an easy-going aesthetic that's part Ben Folds Five, part Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers. I do get the feeling that they're sometimes treading water - sticking to what they know and refining that rather than stepping out of their comfort zone - but it's hard to hold that against them when such an intuitive songwriter and compelling frontman as Daniel is involved.

They have a knack for making records that sound instantly and effortlessly familiar, like the songs are being unlocked from your subconscious rather than entering your imagination for the first time, and this new album is as industrious and consistent as we've come to expect.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.