Formed in Edinburgh in 2005, eagleowl - all lower-case if you please - were initially a duo comprising Bartholomew Owl (guitar, vocals) and Malcolm Benzie (violin, guitar, vocals). With the addition of Clarissa Cheong (double bass, vocals), several years of activity as a trio followed. The band has since grown into a multi-instrumental six-piece also featuring Rob St. John (organ, harmonium, vocals), Hannah Shepherd (cello) and Owen Williams (drums).

When not performing together, all six members are highly active in other bands and collaborations, be it with Scottish alt-folk troubadour Withered Hand, Icelandic singer-songwriter Benni Hemm Hemm, their band mate Rob St. John (who also pursues a solo career), or Canadian indie-pop maestro Woodpigeon. It's the latter - with whom eagleowl's Transatlantic tête-à-tête is framed by this silent year track 'eagleowl vs woodpigeon' (a response to the Calgary singer-songwriter's track 'Woodpigeon vs Eagleowl', from his 2010 album Die Stadt Muzikanten) - that Edinburgh's finest partner-up with to fill a side each of a C40 for LOST CAT 003, the latest release in Lost Map's highly-collectible rarities tape series, on sale only at certain select locations -it's up to you to go find 'em.

Tape £7.99

Tape on Lost Map.

Sold out.


  • Split by Woodpigeon Vs. Eagleowl


No reviews yet. Write a review for us »


Your email address will not be abused or shared.