Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review | 4 people love this record: be the 5th!

With her second solo full length Puce Mary proves herself to be one of the most interesting projects around today. "Persona" manages to balance the hyper personal universe of the artist with enough care for presentation to make it valuable for everyone to listen to, and take part in her experience. And she does that through six tracks, that each take their own place while corresponding beautifully with its neighbors. From primitive rhythmic patterns to elaborate drone pieces and pain stricken vocals. Insisting on finding new routes for the work and with a rare honesty, "Persona" holds its listener captive from start to finish.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £15.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • PI131
  • PI131 / LP on Posh Isolation

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Puce Mary - Persona - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Persona by Puce Mary
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 19 December 2014

This record may be old news to some of you but we only just scored our copies and I feel it’s worth bringing to the attention of any industrial fiends that may not of heard it. The first time I heard this album it made me feel quite uneasy, to the point that I had to turn it off first time around. I’m usually into it when music has that effect but at that moment in time I just wasn’t ready to go there. So taking into account some of the weird sinister shit I listen to and having revisited it prepared to get in the zone, I’ve come to the conclusion that Puce Mary’s second LP 'Persona' on Denmark's Posh Isolation label is a powerfully personal and affecting album.

From the opening hard stomp of ‘The Course’ we’re immediately plunged deep into murky waters inhabited by a heavily processed alien vocal, pulsing synths and Throbbing Gristle reminiscent siren like sound. From there ‘The Viewer’ introduces captivating soundscapes; morphing, hovering drones, icy synth sparse almost tribal primitive drum and the sound of someone wretching/ choking/ coughing/ puking? ‘Gestures’ broods and builds tension with whispered Prurient like gentle vocal.

‘Pigs’ is all throbbing bass and what sounds like a recording of a steam train chugging along accompanied by some searing, sizzling synth work. This lady keeps the door into her world wide open with the sadomasochistic confessions of ‘Impure Fantasy’ before closing with the slow building title track which has a vocal that sounds like a transmission from some evil spirit trapped inside a machine. Captivating stuff.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.