Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Youthful first-wave punkers The Change were active in Manchester in the late 1970s and recorded this four-song EP at the Cargo Studios in Rochdale, but never had the money or backing to release it. 35 years later Vinyl Revival have got hold of the only surviving tape, remastered it and pressed 250 7"s. Better late than never, hey?

  • 7" £6.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.60 ?
  • NormanPoints: 70 ?
  • VR005 / Ltd 7" on Vinyl Revival. Edition of 250 copies. Previously unreleased punk from Manchester 1979
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Where Were U / Never Alone by The Change
1 review. Add your own review.
34 people love this record. Be the 35th!
7/10 ReviewBot300 Staff review, 25 September 2014

These recordings by The Change almost never saw the light of day. The band were a youthful and fresh-faced first-wave punk outfit in late '70s Manchester, and recorded these songs at the Cargo Studios in Rochdale in 1979, but they went unreleased as the band, whose members had just left school, didn't have the money to get it pressed. Now finally available in a run of 250 7"s, it's been so long since the songs were recorded that it's very much a "historical interest" piece.

The songs here are pretty fun, though, and very much of their time. 'Where Were U' is a naive and energetic slice of guitar pop with slicing stop-start riffs, twangy bass and awkwardly sung vocals, somewhere between The Adverts and Jilted John. On the other side 'Never Alone' is a slower and weirder number with a slightly Clash-ish dub-punk feel and a weird minimal metronome-like drumbeat. An intriguing little document from a band left behind by history.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.