Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

When Tim Gane of Stereolab makes a new album and only issues 500 vinyl copies of it on a small Berlin-based label you can imagine that there would be a fair few unhappy people that missed out. Worry no more. Blood Drums, the debut album by Tim Gane’s post-Stereolab band Cavern Of Anti-Matter is now reissued his own Duophonic label. As with Stereolab, Gane showcases his love of vintage analogue instruments to create a one-off experiment that was so good it turned into a full time band.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Triple LP £18.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £5.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • DUHFLP35 / 3LP reissue on Duophonic
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £7.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 80 ?
  • DUHFCD35 / Digipak reissue CD on Duophonic

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • Double LP £19.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • GTR 006
  • GTR 006 / Limited 2LP on Grautag Records

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Blood Drums by Cavern of Anti-Matter
1 review. Add your own review.
25 people love this record. Be the 26th!
9/10 Mike Staff review, 24 April 2014

One of my review highlights of last week was the bargain-priced Cavern of Anti-Matter 12" on Deep Distance which features 45 minutes of freeform kosmische synth jamming from the Stereolab-related trio. Fast forward to this week and they've got two more records out on two entirely separate labels, the most exciting of which is this double LP 'Blood-Drums'.

In contrast to that 12"s meandering cosmic synth explorations, this double LP is a far beatier affair, still krauty, but with emphasis on the krautRock rather than Kosmische; a bright, propulsive voyage full of delicious repetition in a series of head-nodding hypno-scapes. Almost everything here is beat-driven, with a mixture of live and programmed drums holding down steady, pulsating rhythms while synths pulsate and shudder and beep and squelch and modulate and flange.

There's something strangely futuristic and panicky about it, kind of like a dystopian angle on Warm Digits' crisp neo-kraut momentum, although the album is a "musical journey" and they ease you out in very slickly uplifting style with the closing couple of numbers. Penultimate track 'Kool Boy Narcosis' in particular is an unexpected bit of Inner Tube-ish bliss with a slightly new agey feel and a hook which is too catchy if anything, but while it's my personal highlight it's not exactly representative of the rest of the album, which is less cheesy and more cerebral, an hypnotic thump'n'bleep voyage with gorgeous synth tones and plenty going on.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.