Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Destroying all the cobwebs with Body Betrayal. Soft Cage are the new six tracks from the Seattle bad boys. Carrying on the ideologies of queer-core, hardcore and socially aware DIY scenes, these tracks are one to two minute bursts of power violence, thrashy hardcore. File next to Infest, Limp Wrist and Curmudgeon. Out on 12" vinyl from Our Voltage.

  • 12" £8.99 £5.39
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 54 ?
  • VOLT 4 / Ltd 6-track one-sided/ etched 12" on Our Voltage. Edition of 500 Copies
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Soft Cage by Body Betrayal 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!

7/10 Staff review, 18 September 2015

Queer punx Body Betrayal are about again with the hardcore classic: a one-sided 12”. Originally released back in 2014, ‘Soft Cage’ is a chaotic, slow-burning record offering what you would probably consider sprawls for this genre: two minute tunes belting out furious breakdowns and proper growled skramz, all brought back down to the genre’s reality with the kind of nihilist, futureless lyrics of the best.

When I first heard Body Betrayal, I found their sound to be slightly off-kilter, their songs throwing down between tight, kinetic hardcore and strange, often complex structures; give them your time, though, and the chaos becomes inviting, a way of the band clarifying their atmosphere. “Time Spiral” curls itself around a minute dose of feedback and a dirty low-end riff, beginning like a standard before the band switch up into another, cleaner guitar line and a ramshackle gang vocal. It’s askew, this record, but I’m here for the intensity that builds from that. Fans of Bleed the Pigs and Cloud Rat: assemble.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.