Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Johnny Cash's 93rd album (he was busy) was released posthumously, and is the fifth in the American series. A selection of covers from artists such as Gordon Lightfoot, Bruce Springsteen and Hank Williams. As with all the America albums, Cash's sultry trademark vocals add a touch of dark authenticity to the hand-picked songs. Available on 180g vinyl. 

  • LP £18.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • 5344168 / 180g vinyl LP on American Recordings

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


American V: A Hundred Highways by Johnny Cash
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!

7/10 Penrith Steve Customer review, 11th November 2014

This is the first of two of the American Recordings albums to be released posthumously. One of the two original songs recorded for this “Like the 309” was the last song that Cash recorded before his death in September, 2003.

This album features “Further on up the Road” which was originally recorded by Bruce Springsteen and Gordon Lightfoot’s “If You Could Read My Mind”. One of the standout tracks is Cash’s version of the gospel song “God’s Gonna Cut You Down” which was the theme song for the American TV series “Justified”.

Despite this being a posthumous release, “A Hundred Highways” does fit nicely with the rest of the American Recordings series as the same spirit is there.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.