Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Neo-classical pioneer Harold Budd originally released Avalon Sutra in 2004, his emotive and desolate ambient masterwork. The record combines soundscaping disciplines with gorgeous piano sonatas, recalling recent work by A Winged Victory For The Sullen. It's being reissued now through Darla.

  • CD £14.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • DRL285
  • DRL285 / Remastered 2CD on Darla

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Avalon Sutra by Harold Budd 1 review. Add your own review. 9/10
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

9/10 Customer review, 22nd July 2015

I discovered Harold Budd as I typically refine my taste in music, which is via YouTube. I was in pursuit of something dreamy and contemplative, and that is exactly what I found with this gem. An absolutely stunning record. Budd and Co. make tremendous use of the piano, string arrangements and occasionally what I believe is a soprano saxophone (I could be wrong) to create an array of beautiful and enigmatic compositions, some of which are quite brief but nevertheless divine. It is a double disc album with an approximately hour long piece taking up one disc titled 'As Long As I Can Hold My Breath (by Night)', which gracefully has two notes droning throughout the entire piece whilst being surrounded by blooming embellishments.

Within the past year or so, I've started to buy records with an ambience that I can listen to in melancholic solitude to temporarily rid me of the incessant thoughts that plague my consciousness. Projects such as Stars Of The Lid, Eluvium, Grouper and Loscil revitalise my soul on every listen, and this album is no exception. Strongly recommend if you want something that you can introspectively kick back to under the moonlight or blissfully fall asleep to.

All in all, fucking brilliant.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.