Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Early ’90s power pop at its finest—commercially available for the first time on vinyl in the U.S! After the demise of Andy Sturmer and Roger Manning’s Beatnik Beatch, the two recruited Roger’s brother Chris and former Three O’Clock guitarist Jason Falkner to create Jellyfish. While Jason and Chris left after the first album and tour—the follow-up, Spilt Milk, was created by Andy and Roger with help from Jon Brion (Aimee Mann, Kanye West, Fiona Apple, Spoon), Lyle Workman (Todd Rundgren, Bourgeois Tagg, Beck), and T-Bone Wolk (Hall & Oates).

Even though the group lasted for only two albums and four years, their influence on power pop bands since has been as profound as the bands that Jellyfish were influenced by: Cheap Trick, Big Star, Badfinger, Raspberries, Brian Wilson, and more—all part of the power pop tradition being handed down one generation at a time.

Omnivore Recordings’ release of the two Jellyfish albums on LP marks the first time either have been commercially available on vinyl in the U.S. Bellybutton was only released on vinyl as a promotional item in 1990—its only official release at the time was on CD. The first 1,500 copies of the Omnivore release carefully replicates the original tri-fold gatefold packaging and is pressed on translucent blue vinyl. Spilt Milk has a similar story. It was only released on vinyl in the U.K. The U.S. release was, again, only on CD. This time around Omnivore is pressing the first 1,500 copies on translucent green vinyl

  • LP £18.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • 101005
  • 101005 / Black vinyl LP on Omnivore. Edition of 1500 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Spilt Milk by Jellyfish
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

8/10 Penrith Steve Customer review, 21st November 2014

Jellyfish’s second album “Spilt Milk” starts with “Hush”, two minutes of harmony vocals that sounds like an outtake from a Beach Boys and Queen jam session. Next is the brilliant “Joining a Fan Club” which lyrically meets the music somewhere in the mid-seventies with the anachronistic pass-time of sending off a stamped, addressed envelope to some P.O. Box number for a photo and a badge. The chorus is big and the harmonies swoon.

“Sebrina, Paste and Plato” has that chiming, stabbing guitar similar to The Beatles “Getting Better”. Their best song is on here “The Ghost At Number One” which too good to put into words.

This album is a heady mix of Paul McCartney, Queen and The Beach Boys. And it works pretty well.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.