Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

5 reviews »

Nils Frahm executes beautifully moving piano based compositions with marked ease, though the live experience is somewhat informed by the environment. This reissued collection of tracks presents the perceived value Frahm bestows upon these, celebrating his collaboration with chance, space and philosophies of the present.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Double LP £19.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 200 ?
  • ERATP055LP / 2LP on Erased Tapes
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £11.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7-28 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 115 ?
  • ERATP055CD / CD on Erased Tapes

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7-28 days but delays are possible.


Spaces by Nils Frahm
5 reviews. Add your own review.
70 people love this record. Be the 71st!
8/10 ReviewBot300 Staff review, 12 November 2013

Here’s something a bit different from everyone’s favourite modern minimalist pianist Nils Frahm, following mounting critical adoration for his most recent couple of albums. However Frahm felt that none of the existing recordings were really representative of his live performances, so he’s spent the last couple of years recording his performances on everything from cassettes to reel to reel recorders and more sophisticated multi-tracking devices, “to create an album out of live recordings...inspired by everyone who asked which of my records best reflects the performance”.

Because of the variety of recording devices and locations, Frahm also mentions in his sleeve notes that he sees this release “more as a field recording project than a live record”. To the untrained ear, however, it does sound an awful lot like a live record. There are 11 tracks on here, six of which are unreleased, the remainder being culled from previous records or medleys of multiple previously recorded pieces. There’s a real stillness and intensity of focus to many of these tracks, full of hypnotic repeated patterns and pedal notes, gentle tinklings and heartstring-tugging spaces between notes. It’s mind-massagingly beautiful stuff, as you’d expect, and it’s interesting to hear how the live versions vary from their recorded counterparts.

9/10 Kenneth Customer rating (no review), 18th April 2018
9/10 Trudy Customer rating (no review), 1st February 2018
10/10 Joseph Customer rating (no review), 6th May 2017
9/10 Matthaios Customer rating (no review), 5th August 2016



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.