Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

In 1971 The Valdons released their one and only record, “All Day Long” B/W “Love Me, Leave Me.” 

In late 2012 Secret Stash Records helped reform The Valdons to commemorate the release of the Twin Cities Funk & Soul compilation.  After working closely with the band for months, one of The Valdons brought a stack of old rehearsal tapes into the label’s offices.  They spent countless hours repairing, digitizing, and cataloging the beat up tapes.  

In the spring of 2013 The Valdons hit the studio to finally make proper recordings of songs they’d written over 40 years ago.  “Stop, Wait A Minute Girl” B/W “Whatcha Gonna Do” is the first release drawn from those sessions.  



  • 7" £5.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • SSR1003
  • SSR1003 / 7" on Secret Stash 2ND PRESSING!

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Stop, Wait A Minute Girl / Whatcha Gonna Do by The Valdons 1 review. Add your own review. 9/10
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!

9/10 Staff review, 11 July 2014

Here's a fascinating record. Back in 1971 The Valdons brought out a solitary 7", 'All Day Long'/'Love Me, Leave Me' before vanishing into obscurity...until 2012, when Secret Stash got the band back together to commemorate a compilation of Twin Cities Funk & Soul, which set the gears in motion for the unearthing of old tapes and the re-recording of these two tracks which the band had written more than 40 years previously.   They've been beautifully recorded and both sound like lost classics full of soulful vocals and uplifting brass. 'Stop, Wait A Minute Girl' is the more upbeat of the two, with funky guitars and irresistibly kinetic drumbeats that skitter around the impeccably arranged vocal harmonies and bright trumpet flourishes. 'Whatcha Gonna Do' is more of a downbeat soulful shuffle with a slight Otis Redding feel. It's like the last 40 years never happened. Great stuff.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.