Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Born Of Six are Amelia Cuni, Catherine Christer Hennix and Werner Durand. They have created a drone record of one recording that goes on for 55 minutes, building up voice, sitar, tambura drone as well as Hennix’s invented wind instruments. It would be wrong to just call it just a drone record, though, as there are real moments, beautiful yet abrasive passages. CD on Important Records.

  • CD £12.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • IMPREC387
  • IMPREC387 / CD on Important Records feat. Amelia Cuni, Catherine Christer Hennix and Werner Durand

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Svapiti by Born Of Six
1 review. Add your own review.
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!

10/10 Kevin Customer review, 8th September 2015

Amelia Cuni hits gold again with this collaboration release as Born of Six with Catherine Christer Hennix and Werner Durand, to create exemplary drone compositions rooted in the traditions of Dhrupad, Early Minimalism and Just Intonation

Drawing on electronica/drone with her own Indian classical dhrupad training this continuous piece crosses many boundaries that all great music should.

While a tambura flickers in and out of perception, the music is as electric as heat lightning, and Svapiti is often as turbulent. Durand’s instruments squeal like bagpipe chanters and groan like electrified digeridoos, and I suspect that the vocalists have used delays to layer their voices and other electronics to transform their timbres. At one point, Cuni’s ululations are filtered and layered into what sounds like a chorus of Indian geese; at another, voices and flute-like tones stack like storm clouds, ocean and horizon at dusk.

Is it drone? Is it electronica? Is it dhrupad?

Yes and no. All of the above and more.

And at the Norman Records price what a bargain and what a CD!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.