Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Tame Impala have proved themselves champions of psychedelic rock over the past few years, ascending to the top of the pecking order with 'Lonerism', their tightly-knit collection of fluorescent pop tunes. Their debut 'Innerspeaker' is a worthy record in its own right, deftly navigating their heavy stoner influence with serene and inviting pop hooks. 

  • Double LP £21.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 215 ?
  • 3795299 / 2LP on Fiction
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £5.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 60 ?
  • 5700228 / CD on Fiction

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Innerspeaker by Tame Impala 2 reviews. Add your own review. 6/10
55 people love this record. Be the 56th!

7/10 Customer review, 10th March 2015

Tame Impala are an Australian Psych-Rock band from Perth. Depending on when you catch them, they have 4 or 5 members, but their studio recordings are almost completely performed by lead singer Kevin Parker. Synths, guitars, bass, drums - everything you hear on the record was written and most likely recorded by the multi-talented Parker. Surprisingly however, musicianship is not his strong-point, that would in fact be his songwriting. The vocalist knows his way around a brilliant vocal hook as well as an incredible guitar solo.

On top of this, texture is very important to Tame Impala's sound on Innerspeaker. From bristling fuzz-guitar tones, to warm and spacey synths, the record is dynamic and full-to-the-brim with exciting tones.

Track 2, "Desire Be, Desire Go" is a brilliant example of Innerspeaker's sound; catchy (if a tad repetitive) vocal melodies dripping with delay, crunchy guitar chords, lo-fi sounding drums, and a smooth guitar solo. Hear this formula again on tracks "Why Won't You Make Up Your Mind" which features an incredible synth-like guitar tone. It's a great formula, but you are left with the feeling that Kevin is capable of expanding far away from it into even more luscious sonic territory.

This record is a delight to listen to, rich in varied sounds and melodies. The production makes use of plenty of delay and a lo-fi drum sound, something that has come to be copied by many bands since. The only downsides are repetitive structures, and the feeling that Parker is capable of much more. Stand out tracks: "Why Won't You Make Up Your Mind", "Desire Be, Desire Go", "It's Not Meant To Be".

5/10 Customer rating (no review), 21st April 2017




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.