Shrinebuilder are a heavy, heavy meeting of musical minds. We have people from Om, Sleep, Neurosis and the Melvins all vying to see who can play the heaviest and create the most psych sludge with all four of them singing. The results are satisfyingly heavy  - a heavily religious, pounding set of psych power. Re-pressed onto red and yellow splatter wax (whilst stocks last as its as limited as it is heavy).   

CD £10.49 NR070

Melvins/Om/Saint Vitus/Neurosis supergroup CD on Neurot.

  • Shipping cost: £1.05 ?
  • Only 1 copy left
This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Limited Vinyl Double LP £29.49 NR070

Red with orange and yellow heavy splatter vinyl repress 2LP on Neurot. Edition of 200 copies in gatefold sleeve.

  • Shipping cost: £4.50 ?
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Limited edition
  • Includes download code
Pre-order. Due in on 10th April 2020 but delays are possible.


Shrinebuilder by Shrinebuilder
1 review. Write a review for us »
8/10 Ant 26 November 2009
The prospect of Al Cisneros of Om/ Sleep playing in the same band as Dale Crover from The Melvins almost made soil myself with excitement. Add Scott "Wino" Weinrich from Saint Vitus etc. and Scott Kelly from Neurosis both on guitars and you have Shrinebuilder. A metal supergroup some might say. There are elements of the album that I really dig and make me wanna punch the air but it's a bit of a mixed bag really. There's certainly elements of each players style but it doesn't come across as particularly like any of the players respective bands except one track which is very Om sounding but to be fair Al never really veers far from his thing that often. So this really sounds like a totally new band rather than some novelty collaboration. As you'd expect there are some monster riffs and the pace is suitably slow and heavy as they chug and pound away. There's even a psychedelic element coming through at times and then there's just total meathead metal growling that made me want to wear leather pants the first time I heard it. The promo CD we have is one track short so I'm unsure what we're missing there. This certainly has its moments though. Out on Neurot.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.