This week's hand-picked preorders

We've got plenty of exciting releases on the horizon this week courtesy of Plone's first album in over two decades, a tasty reissue from The National, a classic house record and much more.

« Previous promotion Next promotion »

15 item(s) found.   Show filters »

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. feat. Geoff Leigh
Chosen Star Child's Confession

Acid Mothers Temple & The Melting Paraiso U.F.O. are, you’ll not be surprised to hear, a psychedelic rock band. They hail from Japan and have released somewhere in the region of 200 records in the past 24 years. Their new album Chosen Star Child's Confession is released on Riot Season and features Geoff Leigh from prog rock band Henry Cow. 

Alison Chesley, Steve Albini, Tim Midyett
Music from the film Girl on the Third Floor

Look at that terrifying house. It depicts the upcoming horror film Girl on the Third Floor made by director Travis Stevens. To create a suitably creepy soundtrack he recruited Steve Albini to put together a collective and he in turn drafted in Tim Midyett (Mint Mile, Silkworm) and Alison Chesley (Helen Money). A truly fascinating sounding concept. 
  • Vinyl Double LP (TG365LP)
  • Preorder now (ships on release)

Art Brut
Bang Bang Rock & Roll

'Bang Bang Rock & Roll' is the debut album from angular indie types Art Brut. It was released back in 2005 when the alternative music-scape looked very different to how things are now, when post-punk revival was nearing its decline but popular acts like Franz Ferdinand and The Rakes emerged. Nathan Barley was big, and the NME was promoting bands who mostly wore red trousers. All shouty, theatrical declarations and sharp riffing, the album was widely celebrated upon release. 
  • Vinyl LP (ALCOPOP197XX)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Limited edition
  • Indies-only
  • Last copy

Beatriz Ferreyra
Huellas Entreveradas

Argentinian composer Beatriz Ferreyra is now one of the few surviving members of musique concrète pioneers GRM (Groupe de Recherches Musicales). This latest album, Huellas Entreveradas, presents three unreleased compositions that demonstrate how Ferreyra is continuing to breathe new life into electroacoustic music. 
  • Vinyl LP (PS004)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Limited edition

Future Predictions

Future Predictions by Celer, the ambient solo project of Will Long,  is four CDs of music made from field recordings, tape loops, a range of instruments from acoustic to digital and Foley sounds - that’s those sound effects made for film and TV. It Follows Memory Repetitions from 2018 which looked at how memory reinterprets events. Here, they seek to imagine what might happen in the future.
  • CD box set (2A16)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Limited edition
  • Last copy


Melding folk, hard rock and psychedelia, Finnish act Hexvessel unveil their latest studio album, Kindred. Returning to their old studio in Tampere, and with the production skills of John Davis at their disposal, there’s a druidic and occultish feel to proceedings throughout, with an excellent Coil cover (‘Fire of the Mind’) particularly standing out. 

Hiatus Kaiyote
Choose Your Weapon

Australian ensemble Hiatus Kaiyote present Choose Your Weapon, their second album, and by the sounds of it the weapons on offer are Soul, R&B, Funk and Future versions of all of the above. And over eighteen tracks and seventy minutes, they get the chance to deploy them all! A very accomplished work all told.
  • Vinyl Double LP (MOVLP1422C)
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Limited edition

Kooba Tercu
Proto Tekno

Presenting a face of resolve when looking at the frightening realities of the future, Proto Tekno is less an album and more of a manifesto. Kooba Tercu have taken the long-established ‘repetition, repetition, repetition’ formula of countercultural music of years gone by and turned it into an all-out assault on the senses. 

Luke Slater
Berghain Fünfzehn

Berghain Funfzeh by techno veteran Luke Slater (Planetary Assault Systems, L.B Dub Corp, 7th Plain, LSD etc.) sees him reassembling tracks that were released on Ostgut Ton, the inhouse imprint of the legendary Berghain club in Berlin. Spread over two 12”s that see Slater showing off his talent for sampling, live electronics and improvisation, remoulding the source material with additional production to create his vision of heady, dancefloor optimized techno.

Masahiko Satoh
Kayobi No Onna

Re-issued on vinyl for the first time in fifty years, Mitsuko & Svetlana Records brings us Masahiko Satoh’s soundtrack to Kayobi No Onna, an obscure suspense drama that aired for nine episodes between 1969 and 1970. Satoh’s score is filled with jazz improvisations, beautifully rendered mood pieces and flair in spades. 

Peaking Lights

First LP in over three years from the husband and wife duo Peaking Lights. Aaron Coyes and Indra Dunis have built a reputation for making dreamy, dub-infused psych and electronica that helps take the listener into a faraway dreamscape. Hence E S C A P E which helps to provide just that for their listeners - a transcendental, celestial journey for both daydreams and discotheques. 
  • Vinyl Double LP (DKMNTL081)
  • Preorder now (ships on release)


Veteran vintage electronic guys Plone are back. Coming up in the mid ‘90s alongside Broadcast and Pram, they were part of the retro-futuristic scene in Birmingham with links to Ghost Box co-founder Julian House. Now trimmed to a duo, Billy Bainbridge and Mike Johnston have used their knowledge of music technology to create Puzzlewood. It’s an album that takes its cues from library music and children's’ TV, making it a joyous celebration of analogue synths and melody.

Savage Mansion
Weird Country

Sold out

The National
High Violet (Expanded Edition)

High Violet is arguably the best album by The National. It was originally released in 2010 and has been expanded for this 10th anniversary edition. It’s spread over three LPs with the original album taking up the first records. The third LP is made up of alternate takes and live tracks that have never been released on vinyl before. Bloodbuzz Ohio, Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks and Terrible Love are among the tracks on this classic album.
  • Vinyl Triple LP (4AD0244LPX)
  • Preorder now (ships on release)
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Label(s):
  • 4AD