This week's hand-picked preorders

A selection of forthcoming records, hand-picked by our staff members.
Please note that this promotion officially ended on Tuesday September 3rd 2019. Any discounted items may now have returned to full price, and other items may no longer be available at all. If you missed out on this promotion then sign up for our email alerts so that you stand a better chance of not missing out on the next one.
« Previous promotion Next promotion »

Showing all 15 item(s) found.  

(Sandy) Alex G
House of Sugar

He just gets better and better. From lo-fi beginnings (Sandy) Alex G has slowly but surely emerged as one of the best songwriters of his generation. 2017's superb Rocket added a fascinating experimental bent to his songs and was a multi-faceted unpredictable riot of sound. Early indications for House of Sugar are of further warm country-tinged songs with nods towards Elliott Smith and Lou Barlow but complete as always with Alex G's wistful, autumnal melancholy. 

Shiny New Model

Brooklyn quintet Bodega (and not the Nottingham venue of the same name) have announced a mini-album titled 'Shiny New Model'. It features eight songs of big grooves and wistful melodies. FFO Parquet Courts, Shame, and Idles. What is a mini-album anyway? Where is the line? Is it just an EP? Answers on a postcard.

Charli XCX

There was a girl on my course at university who was best friends with Charli XCX from school. This was just when Ms. XCX was beginning to become famous (we’re talking ‘Boom Clap’ days), and I often wondered if I’d ever get to meet her at a houseparty or whatever, but our paths never crossed. Her friend was nice though, so by that logic we’re going to say that Charli XCX is probably pretty nice too. Go Charli! Her third, sort-of-self-titled LP will surely cement her legacy as the premiere alt-pop star of our age - the inheritor of Lady Gaga’s crown, perhaps? Charli features the ginormous singles ‘1999’ (ft. Troye Sivan) and ‘Blame It On Your Love’ (ft. Lizzo). Haim, A. G. Cook, Cupcakke and a bunch of other famous names also contribute.

There Existed an Addiction to Blood

clipping. are very much what you'd expect from a rap group on Sub Pop. Their production is noisy and abrasive and they know their history. This is especially true of MC Daveed Diggs who is now considerably more well known for his role as Marquis de Lafayette and Thomas Jefferson in Hamilton, the musical. 

Hildur Guðnadóttir
Chernobyl (Music from the Original TV Series)

Chernobyl has been one of the most talked about TV shows of 2019. Apparently this is because it’s very good. At some point in the near future I will be finding out what all the fuss is about. For those of you who are lucky enough to have seen it already, you can now buy the soundtrack by Hildur Guðnadóttir and relive the drama in sound form.

Iggy Pop
New values

Sold out - sorry!

Jorge Ben
Jorge Ben

Sold out - sorry!

Massive Attack
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix Tapes ’98)

The union of Massive ‘Robert Isn’t Banksy, Honest’ Attack and Mad Professor has borne fruit before - the latter’s No Protection remix LP is beloved by fans of both parties - and they repeat the trick with these new Mezzanine dubs. Whether or not these were done around Mezzanine’s 1998 LP or more recently, all of the material on Mezzanine Remix Tapes ‘98 is previously unreleased. Also contains Mad Professor’s versions of Massive Attack rarities ‘Wire’ and ‘Metal Banshee’.

Michael Kiwanuka

Just to make absolutely sure that you know it’s him, Michael Kiwanuka has gone for his own (sur)name as the title of his third studio LP. KIWANUKA sees the singer tripping down a bit of a psychedelic soul route - tracks like ‘You Ain’t The Problem’ are shimmering What’s Going On-type things that coalesce around Kiwanuka’s poised, soulful singing. Dangermouse and Kiwanuka’s longtime ally Inflo are the producers.

Minor Pieces
The Heavy Steps Of Dreaming

There’s always a flurry of excitement at Norman Towers when we get wind of a new Ian William Craig record. His latest effort sees him team up with the hitherto-unknown Missy Donaldson to form Minor Pieces. The pair’s debut LP, The Heavy Steps Of Dreaming, sees them combining Craig’s incomparably beautiful hauntological drone-songs with crystal-clear close harmonies and gentle acoustic strums. It is, of course, absolutely brilliant. Think a more crystalline rendering of Bon Iver’s recent glitch opuses - actually, better still, just think about mid-period Björk.
  • Vinyl LP (FATLP155LTD)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Limited edition
  • Last copy

I Am Not A Doctor

Always ones for an interesting album title, Moloko were a duo out of Sheffield most notable for spawning Roisin Murphy now a successful solo artist in her on right. I Am Not A Doctor was their second album which saw the duo experiment in drum and bass and synth pop. It is notable for containing the track Sing It Back which when remixed by Boris Dlugosch became a dancefloor smash.   
  • Vinyl Double LP (MOVLP2458C)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Limited edition
  • Last copy

Nils Frahm
Encores 3

Nils Frahm is also known as the 'piano man' and indeed invented that 'piano day' you see people rattling on about every year. Encores 3 is the third (natch) of his trilogy of work exploring different avenues of his sound. Where part one was generally solo piano and acoustic and part two ambient, part three is all about the percussive and electronic side of his music. The three EPs will at some stage be available as one 80 minute collection but for now it's time to delve in to the last in the series as a standalone disc.  


Hang on. I was thinking that Omni only released a new album earlier this year when in reality Multi-Task came out in 2017. How time flies when you are enjoying yourself.  Networker is their third album and their first since signing for Sub Pop. Theirs is a taut and wiry sound with nods back to Gang of Four and fellow Georgians Pylon and they have an ex Deerhunter in guitar ace Frankie Broyles. Networker turns up the 'fi' on their twisty turny sound but retaining the catchiness and freshness of their earlier work. 

Stiff Little Fingers
Inflammable Material

Stiff Little Fingers’ debut LP Inflammable Material turns forty this year. If punk isn’t dead, it’s certainly well into its midlife crisis. Back in the day there were few better than these Northern Irish legends when it came to sound and fury. Recorded to a backdrop of the Troubles and sectarian violence, Jake Burns and his band burn with a righteous anger from Inflammable Material’s first track to its last.

The Roots
Things Fall Apart

One of the first hip hop acts to operate as a fully-fledged band, The Roots combine live instrumentation and percussion with traditional sampling elements and the dense prose of Black Thought. Their fourth album is a stone-cold classic of hip hop where jazzy beats collide with politically conscious wordplay. It includes energetic numbers such as 'Dynamite!', 'Step Into The Relm', and 'You Got Me' which features fellow Soulquarian Erykah Badu. Their breakthrough earned them a Grammy nomination, but they unfortunately lost out to Eminem on the night.