Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

50 Records You Might Have Missed!

It's a tough old job trying to keep up with the slew of new releases, but never fear! Our experts have picked 50 top-quality, interesting, or otherwise worthwhile items which might just have escaped your attention over the past few weeks. So have a scroll down our list. That classic-in-waiting might just be lurking...
Please note that this promotion officially ended on Tuesday March 25th 2014. Any discounted items may now have returned to full price, and other items may no longer be available at all. If you missed out on this promotion then sign up for our email alerts so that you stand a better chance of not missing out on the next one.
« Previous promotion Next promotion »

1-50 of 50 items.

Show page list »
Show filters »

Addison Groove
Presents James Grieve

Bass music at its classiest, here’s a proper full length album: Presenting James Grieve. Addison Groove rattles on with paranoid rhythms, vertigo-inducing drops out of the blue, and a tension rising as the record progresses. Released on double vinyl, this is a sophomore effort that is smooth and tough, and sexy throughout.

Birds of Passage
This Kindly Slumber

This Kindly Slumber is the third album by Birds of Passage, AKA New Zealander Alicia Merz. The sound is made up of layers of ethereal ambiance underneath Merz’s philosophical poetry. For fans of Zola Jesus, Cocteau Twins, Sigur Ros and Grouper. This Kindly Slumber is available on vinyl LP and CD.

Jacques Caramac & The Sweet Generation
The Highs And Lows Of...

Os Ovni
Let's Leave Reality

Os Ovni are an electro-pop duo from Florida. Let’s Leave Reality is their debut album. Psychedelic synthesizer experimentation with glistening harmonies -- speeding through space and time --portray a future world in which we’ll all be looking over our shoulders. Let’s Leave Reality is available on vinyl LP.
  • Vinyl LP (SC-002)
  • £19.99 £10.00 (saving: £9.99)
  • In stock and ready to ship

Pinch & Mumdance
Turbo Mitzi / Whiplash

Sometimes you’re dancing in some forlorn warehouse and you look around you, and you’re struck with a sudden realization: everybody looks like they’re having a seizure or a panic attack. With this piece of 12” vinyl, you are able to understand why: Pinch & Mumdance’s two new tracks are powerful pieces of 128bpm paranoia.

Pyramid Vritra

Sheriff Lindo And The Hammer
Aftershock Dubs

Australian dub maestro Sheriff Lindo is back with his first album release since 1988’s Ten Dubs That Shook The World. After Shock Dubs features a selection of tracks recorded but never released between 1990 and 2005. It’s a playful collection of studio trickery and you guessed it, deep, deep bass. Mastered by Kuratani it’s the first ever dancehall release from EM Records. Out on CD & vinyl LP.

Steven R. Smith / Ulaan Khol
Ending / Returning

Steven R. Smith has made music in a number of different styles and for each genre he has explored, he has used a different name. His new album Ending/Returning sees him recording sparse, minimal, and quiet guitar work under his own name and the same music in a more fuzzy, psychedelic style as his alter ego Ulaan Khol. Available on Double vinyl LP, pressed on high quality virgin vinyl. The gatefold sleeve features silver metallic ink on a white background with photography by Bernhard Edmaier.

The Gaslight Anthem
The B-sides

The B-Sides by The Gaslight Anthem features rare acoustic versions of some of the bands best-known songs plus the studio track "She Loves You" and a cover of The Rolling Stones' classic "Tumbling Dice". These songs were recorded over a three year period from 2008-2011. It's available on vinyl LP with a download code.  

The Green Kingdom

Van Dyke Parks
The Super Chief: Music For The Silver Screen

‘Super Chief: Music For The Silver Screen’ is an ‘orchestral fantasy’ inspired by a rail journey Van Dyke embarked upon across the United States in 1955. In Van Dyke Parks’ own words: “I’ve made an orchestral fantasy illustrating my first trip across the USA by rail, in 1955. This Suite is drawn from over a score of years, and as many films, now re-recorded from my archives as a film-music composer. In editing, I was surprised to discover my penchant for folk themes, reframed in orchestral settings. (There are countless quotes from the 19th century ‘The American Century’). The lingo of such traditional American music reveals my obsession, however unconscious, for rustic old saws that can still cut the wood. Yep, it’s Americana. All made in the great 48. Celtic examples abound: ‘The Water Is Wide’, ‘Old Joe Clark’, ‘The Forked Deer’, ‘Saint Anne’s Reel’, ‘I Ride An Old Paint’, etc. With these references, a dash of low- church hymns (‘Goin’ Home’) and an occasional Aboriginal motif, all embedded in this novel and singular Ode to that passing American scene... so long ago, yet about a handshake away. It can come in handy as a backdrop to a romantic interlude in candle-lit dinner conversation over a fine linen-count. (I’ve tried this at home.) Perhaps for a head-set in a subway tunnel, or as a car-tune in a smooth segue from the surrounding road-rage on a daily commute.” 

Heavenly Ethiopiques – The Best of the Ethiopiques Series

Culled from 28 CD releases to date, this is a compilation of highlights from the well-regarded Ethiopiques series. An incredible range of artists known and unknown populate this release, including Getachew Mekuria and Seyoum Gebreyes. The perfect introduction to the series. Lushly packaged double LP on the delightfully named Heavenly Sweetness label.

Something Cold

  • Vinyl LP (SC-001)
  • £17.49 £10.49 (saving: £7.00)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Last copy

Withered Hand
New Gods

New Gods is the second album from Edinburgh-based singer Songwriter Dan Wilson, aka Withered Hand. With the aid of a grant from Creative Scotland, Wilson was able to utilise everything a proper studio had to offer to bring his folk-rock musings to life. Assisted by producer Tony Doogan, New Gods features guest appearances from many Scottish musicians such as Eugene Kelly, King Creosote, Stevie Jackson & Chris Geddes from Belle & Sebastian and Scott Hutchison from Frightened Rabbit. New Gods is available on vinyl LP with download code and CD.