Mexican Summer

Mexican Summer are a label we like a lot. So much so, we did one of our Label Watch pieces on 'em, we've grabbed an exclusive compilation from 'em and, below, we've even discounted some of their back catalogue for you. Whilst stocks last.
This promotion ended on Tuesday February 12th 2019. Any discounted items have returned to full price, and other items may be sold out. If you missed out on this promotion then sign up for our email alerts so that you stand a better chance of not missing out on the next one.
« Previous promotion Next promotion »

Showing all 9 item(s) found.  

Ariel Pink
Dedicated To Bobby Jameson

Ariel Pink’s eleventh full length album and his debut on Mexican Summer. Dedicated To Bobby Jameson is a woozy psychedelic pop journey through the tragic ups and downs reflected in Bobby Jameson’s life story, and his continuous struggle for success in the music industry (having recorded with Frank Zappa, and The Rolling Stones). Decayed and slowed tape warbles shine throughout and a fair degree of pop genius it has to be said. 
  • Vinyl Double LP (MEX2400)
  • CD (MEX2402)

Ariel Pink & Weyes Blood
Myths 002

Sold out - sorry!

Connan Mockasin

God help us all, he's back. Popular hedonist Connan Mockasin has probably been sleeping in his pillow fort for the last couple of years but he returns with more ineffable R&B tinged indie rock. Jassbusters is his third record and is apparently the prologue to a five-part film he's making, esoterically soundtracking this thing we don't yet know about. If you like Connan, you're probably fine without the context.  
  • CD (MEX2382)

Dungen & Woods
Myths 003

Marfa Myths is a festival in Texas curated by the Mexican Summer label. There you will find all you’d expect from a festival in terms of bands playing live and such, but there are also some special events. One of those events is a recording residency. In 2017,  Swedish psych rockers Dungen collaborated with Brooklyn’s alt. folk rockers, Woods. Myths 003 was the resulting LP. Liner notes from members of each band complete the package. LP on Mexican Summer.
  • Vinyl LP (MEX2441)

Jefre Cantu-Ledesma
On The Echoing Green

Cutting his teeth with groups such as Portraits, The Alps, and collaborating with Liz Harris (Grouper) as Raum, San Francisco based multi-instrumentalist Jefre Cantu-Ledesma has been releasing albums consistently since. On The Echoing Green is full-on elation and uninhibited emotion. Through hazy tape fuzz and glistening guitar, a pop joy shines through and then washes away through a crackling hiss without really taking form, But it's not quite drone, just distant songs...
  • CD (MEX2122)
  • Vinyl LP (MEX2121)

Oneohtrix Point Never

‘Replica’ is the first record that Oneohtrix Point Never (Daniel Lopatin) has made in a studio. It shows, too - there’s greater scope and ambition here when compared to earlier releases like ‘Rifts’, with emphasis shifted somewhat (but not wholly) away from synthesisers. Sampling takes a more prominent role - there’s Falty DL and Flying Lotus in this thing - as well as piano vignettes (‘Replica’) and manipulated vocal tracks (‘Child Soldier’). Everything is suffused with an air of computer-age uncanniness.
  • CD (SFT0102)

The Nightcrawlers
The Biophonic Boombox Recordings

Late 70s kosmische from *checks notes* Philadelphia and New Jersey? The Nightcrawlers were a trio from the States making music that more than happily finds a place among kosmische greats like Tangerine Dream. The two discs of The Biophonic Boombox Recordings issued by Anthology Recordings were painstakingly curated from a collection of over forty tapes worth of all-night recordings.
  • CD (ARC0252)

Mexican Summer: A Decade Deeper

Sold out - sorry!

Weyes Blood
Front Row Seat To Earth

Front Row Seat To Earth is the new album by Weyes Blood, the solo recording project of Natalie Mering from Jackie O Mutherfucker. The album recalls the the US west coast folk sound of the ‘70s, artists such as Esra Mowhawk. The live band feel is contrasted with a clever use of electronics. The album was produced by Chris Cohen who has played with the likes of Cass McCombs and Ariel Pink as well as releasing a couple of solo albums.
  • Vinyl LP (MEX2281)
  • CD (MEX2282)