Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

Black Opal Vinyl, CD & tapes from this label at Norman Records

1-21 of 21 items.

Show page list »

Heavy Merging

Another record of warm, slightly weird techno from Patricia here. Heavy Merging finds the Brooklyn-based artist returning to Opal Tapes sub-label Black Opal (J. Albert, Cloudface). This is an EP of muted club tackle characterised by lo-fi drum takes and watercolour synths. Think Huerco S. dropping something via Analogical Force.
  • Vinyl 12" (BOP017)

J. Albert
Small Room EP

Super-prolific techno footmover J. Albert comes back for another 2016 12", this time channeling dusty inner city beats for a good 4 tracks. Judging by the quality of A2 cut 'Ting Waan', this will be stomping, keeping bodies warm and limber deep into the winter nights and beyond. While he's just got things moving with his own Exotic Dance label, this one comes out on Black Opal. Fair's fair in the realm of the thunk.
  • Vinyl LP (BOP008LP)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Label(s):
  • Black Opal

Quiet Witness

  • Vinyl 12" (BOP013)
  • In stock and ready to ship

Quatermass EP

Devon Hanson has recorded under his own name, including collabs with Wanda Group and Karl Fousek, and also as Stefan Jós. His first under this new moniker appears on Opal Tapes’ vinyl offshoot. Four tracks of subtle, dubby, uncluttered and minimal house, made up of crisp rhythms and silvery, pristine tones echoing across spacious plains. 
  • Label(s):
  • Black Opal

DJ Ultra Greatsword

  • Vinyl 12" (BOP010)
  • In stock and ready to ship

New Wave Of Nature

Following releases on Forbidden Planet, LL.M. and Pinkman, Annanan lands on Opal Tapes sister label Black Opal with a fine 4-track EP. Opening with the woody stomp, dreamy keys and squelchy bass of the titular cut and onto the lost in the night, melancholy of 'Bomb'. Over on the flipside 'Sphere' thumps with chunky drums, sci-fi electronics and spectral melodies. The EP closes with the sinister groove of 'Gone' which utilises the hefty skeletal drums which are present throughout the EP which ride underneath a quivering synth and dread filled piano. Tidy stuff throughout as ever from Black Opal.
  • Vinyl 12" (BOP011)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Last copy

Neva Done This Before

  • Vinyl 12" (BOP012)
  • In stock and ready to ship

Lyra Valenza
Scan, Deliver

Opal Tapes offshoot Black Opal (Metrist, J Albert) drop an excellent debut EP from Denmark’s Lyra Valenza. The duo of Hjalte and Severin’s Jens Konrad turn in four tracks of rave hyperrealism on Scan, Deliver. Numbers like ‘Reality Blizz’ enmesh the post-trance explorations of Lorenzo Senni with Special Request’s wildside junglism. We look forward to hearing more from this lot.
  • Vinyl 12" (BOP016)
  • In stock and ready to ship


This one doesn’t muck about. Opal Tapes offshoot Black Opal (Patricia, J. Albert) drop an EP of stern club fare from Lyubocha. Berzerk's four tracks bring together the hard techno of Ostgut Ton, Ross From Friends’ lo-fi house flex and bubbling acid grooves ala Matrixxman. They are the sort of DJ tools that will breathe new life into any mix.
  • Vinyl 12" (BOP015)
  • In stock and ready to ship

Behind The Line

Firenze based producer Sciahri, one half of Producer duo UNKNOT, has previous releases on Ilian tape and now comes to Opal Tapes. Moving on from his Mysterious Love release, his sound has grown into deeper and harder techno territories, replacing straight up 909 kicks for heavy and tape distorted low end thuds and washing atmospherics.
  • Vinyl 12" (BOPW004)
  • £9.99 £5.99 (saving: £4.00)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Limited edition
  • Last copy


Tracks released by Ged Gengras under his Personable moniker tend to fizz with fresh energy: probably a consequence of his ‘live-in-the-studio’ production approach. House-garage-techno jams with a bounce and a punch, from a real synth talent. 4 tracks on Oyster, which is released by Black Opal.
  • Vinyl LP (BOP007LP)
  • £19.99 £11.99 (saving: £8.00)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Last copy

Life's Track
Smell of Sanctity

Five tracks-worth of low-down heavy funky sound by Life’s Track on this new 12” EP. Smell of Sanctity bounces along powerfully with thick, irresistible beats that sound like they are kept on a short leash. Only 300 copies of this around, on the Black Opal label, so don’t wait around if you want one. Hand stamped too, for extra authenticity.
  • Vinyl 12" (BOPW002)
  • £8.99 £4.50 (saving: £4.49)
  • In stock and ready to ship

Cop Envy
Total End

  • Vinyl 12" (BOP009LP)

Russell E. L. Butler
The First Step

This Is For Sore Is Just There

As track titles such as ‘Petrol Arses’, ‘That Prick I Hate’ and ‘Shit Patches’, Metrist’s music neither takes itself too seriously, nor cares if you like it. This Is For Sore Is Just There is rough and nasty, with distorted bass and distorted synths coalescing into rhythmic patterns, only to be fragmented by random harsh blasts. LP on Black Opal.
  • Vinyl LP (BOP005LP)
  • Label(s):
  • Black Opal

Nathan Melja

This new 12” from Nathan Melja wastes no damn time at all, cutting straight in with the first track’s stern kick drum; a kick drum so low-pitched that it almost merges with the bassline. A.C.I. has three more tracks just as heavy up its sleeve as well, so watch yourselves. Edition of 300 on Black Opal.

J. Albert

A prolific machine, J. Albert returns with a brand new 12” on Black Opal. Kiss The Ground opens the record with a vocal sample and a simple 4/4 beat that gradually morphs into the sporadic crackling sound of a bonfire before smashing back into a thumping 4/4 handclap. Simple but effective house music. Out on vinyl 12” from Black Opal. In black with handstamp. Limited to 300 copies.

Let Go

You better get your shovel out to dig into this density from Xosar. BOP004 is the eight tracker from the San Franciscan, now Berlin based, producer. On this one she isn't holding back at all, with the low end rumbling through and destroying all in its path at various tempos. There is peak time aggression in 'The Pit', early hours gliding on 'Sail 2 Elderon' and tripped out euphoria on 'Gnome Circle'. If you want all the frequencies then pick it up on vinyl LP from Black Opal.
  • Label(s):
  • Black Opal