Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

Yala Records Vinyl, CD & tapes from this label at Norman Records

1-4 of 4 items.

Show page list »


The Maccabees were nice weren't they? In the light of their recent break-up, keys player Will White is keen to get back in the game, this time as BLANc (what does the lowercase 'c' mean? answers on a postcard). On Chameleon White makes the move from his old band's decidedly British sound to a more American one. He's also found the space to feature one Stereophonic.
  • Vinyl 7" (YALA8)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Last copy

Willie J Healey
666 Kill

Willie J Healey took a novel approach to writing the songs for his first record of new material since 2017 debut LP People And Their Dogs. As soon as an idea would appear in his head Healey sought to flesh it out without over-elaborating the writing process. The results are these six tracks of plaintive freak-folk that recall Neil Young, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and Devendra Banhart. The title of ‘Guitar Music’ is a red herring - it’s actually Healey’s first song to feature no guitars other than bass.
  • Vinyl 12" (YALA7)

Pretty Pure

Whenyoung, do as the young do. The fledgling Irish group debut on Yala! Records, which is run by Felix White (from The Maccabees, come on). Both tracks here are heart-on-sleeve indie-rock that, to be honest, sounds like loads of other bands who are doing that 90s indie/grunge revival thing at the moment. But the songwriting is good, and the singer’s sparky energy and slightly shrill delivery recall The Sugarcubes, which is always a good thing.
  • Label(s):
  • Yala Records

The Magic Gang
EP Three

After releasing 2 EPs and 2 singles through their own Telharmonium label a couple of the members of The Maccabees got interested enough in the Brighton four-piece that Hugo White produced and Felix White is releasing their third EP through his Yala! Imprint. Bold and sunny indie pop, anti grey day stuff.