Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

Rimarimba Vinyl, CD & tapes by Rimarimba at Norman Records

Show page list »

The Rimarimba Collection

Brilliant RVNG Intl. sub label Freedom To Spend has very handily collected four of Rimarimba's 80s output as The Rimarimba Collection. The music here is like a cross between minimalism and American Primitivism; guitars are thoughtfully plucked, glockenspiel melodies are looped, and weird field recordings are distorted. The whole thing has an addictive playfulness to it, making it the musical equivalent of a page-turner. 
  • Vinyl LP box set (FTS8BOX2)
  • Preorder now (ships on release)
  • Limited edition

In The Woods

Somewhere in the early ‘80s,  in an inexplicable space between post-punk, minimalist and industrial music Rimarimba existed with their weird sounds. The DIY electronic experimentalists were led by Felixstowe-based Robert Cox. In The Woods was their second album and was originally released in 1985.

On Dry Land

Freedom To Spend’s run of Rimarimba reissues continues with the band’s 1984 LP On Dry Land. With this record Robert Cox further explores the curious fourth-world sound that he’d begun to develop on Beyond The Horizon the previous year. As such, On Dry Land is pitched somewhere between the sampling experiments of Eno, Byrne and Cale, Midori Takada’s new age minimalism and 23 Skidoo’s avant-rock.
  • Vinyl LP (FTS6LP)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Limited edition
  • Last copy

Below The Horizon

Rare DIY sounds from Robert Cox’s Rimarimba project, excavated and reissued by Freedom To Spend. Below The Horizon is 1983 material, originally circulated through private tape-trading circles. Homemade minimalism, made with an amateur’s passion and all the more intriguing and enjoyable for it. Limited LP reissue.