Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

The Safe Distance Vinyl, CD & tapes from this artist at Norman Records

Show page list »

Hulaboy / The Safe Distance

Here's one of those good old fashioned split albums and both sides feature former Boyracer and current Emotional Response honcho Sir Stewart Anderson. Hulaboy is his long running collaboration with Eric Stoess of Hulahoop and they make bittersweet pop with nods towards Postcard and Flying Nun. Over on the flip is the Safe Distance, a band he formed with Simon 'Crayola' Williams of Sarandon, Crayola etc. They make scratty 80s indie with Bogshed/the Ron Johnson roster as influences.  
  • Vinyl LP (ER48LP)
  • Artist(s):
  • The Safe Distance

Various (The Safe Distance, The Declining Winter etc)
A Tribute to Crabstick

To those of us who were around at the time, Crabstick were one of the finest bands of the early '90s. They had a wonderful rustic lo-fi charm that was one part Beat Happening, one part Daniel Johnston and one part The Go-Betweens. Someone should reissue their 'Stud or Houseboy' album pronto. Here is a cheap and cheerful tribute disc with tracks from The Safe Distance (Sarandon's Crayola and Boyracer's Stewart), The Declining Winter (aka Hood's Richard Adams), Thee Headless Kings and Phillip Buckle (Teamforest). Features artwork by original Crabstick cascading drum genius David Nichols.  
  • Artist(s):
  • The Safe Distance

The Safe Distance
Do Some More Songs

The Safe Distance make music whilst living on different sides of the Atlantic Ocean, imagine that! Especially interesting as this isn’t abstract email-collab friendly stuff, but energetic full-band indie pop! Twelve songs, including Wire, Human League and Saxon covers, coming out on Emotional Response.

The Safe Distance
Songs EP

The Safe Distance are an international, oddball-pop supergroup featuring Crayola on vocals and guitar (Sarandon / A Witness, UK), David Nichols on drums, (Cannanes / Huon, Australia), and Stewart Anderson on bass and organ (Boyracer etc, USA). Their latest 4 track, 7’’ EP lies at the power pop end of the C86 spectrum and includes bonus downloads of covers by Adam and the Ants, Hawkwind and Bogshed.
  • Vinyl 7" (ER-07)
  • In stock and ready to ship
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Last copy