Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

Thou Vinyl, CD & tapes from this artist at Norman Records

Show page list »


My friends, my dear friends, listen up: it is the year of Thou. In addition to releasing their new grungy doom opus Magus, they've been releasing a series of EPs that give them a chance to try out other things. Inconsolable is perhaps the most significant outlier in their entire discography, a rustic slowcore experiment that sees them go acoustic as frontman Bryan Funck hands over vocal duties to those less gravelly. It is surprising and satisfying, a gentle, melodic meditation just as slow but in an entirely different way.
  • Vinyl LP (LPCR089)
  • In stock and ready to ship


Thou claim greater influence from 90s proto-grunge groups like Alice In Chains and Soundgarden than contemporaries like EYEHATEGOD, a band to whom the Baton Rouge outfit are frequently compared. Magus - Thou’s first LP since 2014’s Heathen - lands squarely between the two camps, but is also much more than that. Sludgy, abrasive and loud as heck, there's more than a little Converge in here. That is to say that Magus is modern metal par excellence. The vocalist’s screech is the first sound you hear in hell. Out via Sacred Bones.
  • Vinyl Double LP (SBR205LP)
  • CD (SBR205CD)

Rhea Sylvia

Rhea Sylvia, the first of three EPs that Baton Rouge group Thou will release before 2018 is out, is so bloody loud. Goodness gracious it’s loud. Oh me oh my is this one loud. Hooooo boy. Their combination of various heavy metals - mainly sludge, doom and black - with industrial and noise rock has brought comparisons to the likes of Sunn O))). They’re warranted. This one is thick as molasses and twice as dark.

The Body & Thou
Released From Love / You, Whom I Have Always Hated

If you liked either or both of the excellent, brutally heavyweight collaborative albums put out in the last few years by The Body and Thou, now you can own the pair of them in one double LP set! Released From Love and You, Whom I Have Always Hated are both excellent blackened statements of intent, although the latter album probably edges it for having one of the greatest ever album titles. Reissued by Thrill Jockey.
  • Vinyl Double LP (THRILL453LP)


Vendetta presents the new record from Thou, which turns out to be the most melodic work to date from the band. Worth mentioning though that they are a sludge band in love with gargantuan riffs and seas of distortion, so don’t go expecting prettiness. Heathen rises and falls slowly and inexorably, like a trail of magma. Double LP.

Great Falls / Thou

Available on 7” vinyl on Hell Comes Here. Split 7” with Thou and Great Falls each taking a side and covering a different Shellac tune in their own heavy ways. Thou brutalise Prayer to God while Great Falls tackle Wingwalker. Limited pressing of 1040 copies, screen printed cover with download code included.
  • Vinyl 7" (HCH014)
  • Limited edition

The Body & Thou
You, Whom I Have Always Hated

I have always loved The Body’s choices of titles, and with this album I think they may have surpassed themselves: You, Whom I Have Always Hated, how fantastic. This is a collaborative release with fellow heavy experimentalists Thou, and it brings appropriate amounts of bleak crushing metal-weight. Exciting.
  • Artist(s):
  • Thou
  • Artist(s):
  • Thou