× Plenty of RSD stock left - come and grab it next week. Back on Tuesday. Have a great Easter everyone!
Norman Records

Fuxa - Dirty D

Recommended by us on 23rd August 2013. 2 people love me. Be the 3rd...

Dirty D by Fuxa
  • CD £7.69 + £0.00 shipping, based on your current cart
  • CD on Rocket Girl (RGIRL97)
  • Artist: Fuxa
  • Label: Rocket Girl
  • Genres: Psychedelia / Space Rock
  • In stock. Ships in 1 working day.
  • Hurry - limited stock!
Disclaimer: all reviews are simply the personal opinions of our staff and customers. They are not the official opinion of Norman Records as a whole. More details here...OK?
(1 review) 8/10


8/10 according to on Wed 21 Aug, 2013

I was complaining earlier about all the records I had to review today being too dark, and the music gods seem to have been listening because everything I’ve had since has been delightful, especially the Gold Panda-ish synthtronic subtlety of the new Shigeto album which I’d happily have listened to twice. Now it’s Fuxa’s turn to caress my senses with his synthesizers and understated beats on his newie ‘Dirty D’.

It’s an understated collection of gorgeously cycling beats, subtle details and a few surprises (penultimate track ‘Unknown’ mixes some swooshing Fuck Buttons-esque synth ambience with surprisingly guitar-centric melodies) compiled in a way which is constantly pleasing to the ear. It’s constantly melodic and drifts along at a gentle pace and yet the songs themselves never outstay their welcome. Kind of like a warm, comforting yin to Boards of Canada’s jittery paranoid yang.

‘Shout Out Loud’ has a boy singer that sounds like Brian Ferry but probably isn’t Brian Ferry. I’m resisting the temptation to look up who it is though because I like the idea that it’s Ferry. Single ‘Sun Is Shining’ has a girl singer sounds like an early Chemical Brothers take on John Denver’s ‘Leaving On A Jet Plane’ but not in a bad way. However the album closes with a cover of ‘Stand By Me’ which I think is universally regarded in our office as a misstep but it could be more offensive I suppose; more just a bad idea than a crime against music. Many of the songs are silky little vignettes which suck me in and then spit me out before I’ve really got to grips with them, but as an album it all gels together beautifully up until that last track.



Press release

* Comprising a sixteen-strong army of collaborators, Füxa’s tenth full-length album, Dirty D, is at once a sonic celebration of creativity, and a rapturous denunciation of some of the demons of modern society. Following on swiftly from 2012’s Electric Sound of Summer (itself released after a ten year hiatus), Dirty D is a characteristically euphoric record – a largely electronic set which shifts from solarised hysteria (‘Sun is Shining’) to crepuscular elegance (‘Razzamatazz’) over the course of its dozen tracks.

* The dirty ‘D’ of the title could refer to a number of disquieting facets of today’s society – the dominance of Disney, the illusion of democracy, dereliction – and, in contrast to Disney’s sickly saccharine supremacy over our children’s imaginations, Randall Nieman and his collaborators offer us an animated aural narrative which, in its playfulness and gracefulness, allows for multiple readings on the anxious social issues of our days. Dirty D’s cast of characters (which includes pedal steel hero BJ Cole, Ann Shenton of Add N to (X), and Judy Dyble of Fairport Convention) have been cherry-picked by Nieman to ensure a diversity that never feels disjointed: a genuine sonic democracy.

* While Electric Sound of Summer pivoted around a number of cover versions, Dirty D comprises mostly original tracks. The opener, ‘The Blue Barracuda’, sees Nieman join circuit boards with Suki Ewers of Mazzy Star, Oliver Kersbergen of Sleepyard and Gaute Storsve of Ignore, conjuring a delicate, aquatic backdrop to accommodate Judy Dyble’s vocals. The track acts almost as an aural departure lounge before the soaring lift-off of ‘Reverse’ which, with its sister track ‘Forward’, combines Nieman’s synths and BJ Cole’s lap steel guitar to produce a pair of astonishing Country & Galactic ‘space waltzes’.


1) The Blue Barracuda 2) Reverse 3) Berzap 4) Inside 5) Shout Out Loud 6) Sun Is Shining 7) Dirty D 8) Forward 9) Razzamatazz 10) Whisper 11) Unknown 12) Stand By Me/ DD

Shipping times


This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Shipping prices

We calculate your shipping costs by taking the heaviest item in your order and calculating that at the 'Heaviest Item' price. Each additional item in your order is then charged at the 'Additional Item' price.

So, because you currently don't have anything in your cart the shipping cost for Dirty D by Fuxa will be the 'Heaviest Item' price for the format you choose:

Format 'Heaviest Item' Price 'Additional Item' Price
CD £0.00 £0.00
Note: Our definition of 'Western Europe' is Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, or Switzerland.
Format 'Heaviest Item' Price 'Additional Item' Price
CD £2.25 £0.65
Note: Our definition of 'USA / Canada / Rest of world is' any country that IS NOT Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland or United Kingdom.
Format 'Heaviest Item' Price 'Additional Item' Price
CD £2.60 £0.90

A shipping calculator is provided on the shopping cart page. To find out more about shipping visit our shipping prices and policies page.