× Plenty of RSD stock left - come in and grab it. We are open 9-5 weekdays!
Norman Records

Park Avenue Music - For Your Home Or Office

2 people love me. Be the 3rd...

For Your Home Or Office by Park Avenue Music
  • CD £11.49 + £0.00 shipping, based on your current cart
  • CD on Mu-Nest (mnc012)
  • Artist: Park Avenue Music
  • Label: Mu-Nest
  • Genres: Electronic
  • In stock. Ships in 1 working day.
  • Hurry - limited stock!
Disclaimer: all reviews are simply the personal opinions of our staff and customers. They are not the official opinion of Norman Records as a whole. More details here...OK?
(1 review) 8/10


8/10 according to on Fri 21 Sep, 2012

Oh this is nice, wondrously sparkling electronica just like your Mum used to make (Mum geddit?). It’s full of soft-as-lace Rhodes piano-like trills with skittery micro-beats and dog friendly high pitched female vocals that recall the Mum lady or Stina Nordenstam. ‘Golden Hummingbird’ has an oddball vocal waver but still manages to recall a The xx completely given over to electronic noodling.

I’m reminded of the excellent Conquering Animal Sound album of a couple of years ago in that everything is chopped into a million pieces and often sounding like the CD has broken (which to be honest due to my useless CD player most of my records sound like anyway). As well as the album we get a bonus bunch of remixes from the likes of Aus, Geskia, Ametsub and many, many more. Beautifully packaged in an oversized CD style fold-out thing.

Press release

"for your home or office” has a great balance of dense electronic sound and gentle, spacious melody. Park Avenue Music create a beautiful atmosphere on their original tracks, and they really begin to bloom after repeated listens. The second half is taken in as smoothly as the first— The remixes are just as solid, and fit into the context of the record so well." - Baths (anticon.)

The night falls. The dark obscures. Everything is blanketed in mystery. Welcome to the shadowlands…

Park Avenue Music has made the perfect soundtrack to what happens after the sun sinks behind the horizon. Forgoing their usual bright ‘n’ sunny Northern California electronica, Wes Steed and Jeannette Faith have crafted an homage to the after-hours. As the last gasps of sunlight desperately reach out for one last hurrah and day turns to night, there is a stillness as we adjust ourselves to the slumber that awaits and we reflect on and recover from the hours gone by.

Like all great night music - Joy Division’s Closer, Roxy Music’s Avalon and Nick Drake’s Pink Moon – For Your Home or Office sounds best when illuminated by the moon. An air of resignation runs thru these six tracks, a breathless love letter to the noir around us and in us. Jeannette’s voice is a gorgeous whisper, of secrets untold and confessions just for you. Wes backs these words with staggered stutters and melancholy melodies colored like midnight and the round sounds of a Rhodes and a lonely piano lets you know that human hands are crafting each song.

Wes and Jeannette have handed over their nocturnal songs to some of the finest remixers around the world to illuminate their music. It starts with aus (JP) masterful reinterpretation of the original track with a gorgeous beat-based approach, while underground hip-hop and breakbeats prodigy Geskia! (JP) then executed a kaleidoscope-like remix with layers of brilliant sounds. It follows by the ever-excellent Ametsub (JP)’s superb remix in his distinctively mesmerizing electronica sounds, while Lorin Sylvester Strohm (DE) cast a toe-tapping pop spell on his exquisite remix. Hideki Umezawa a.k.a. poplamb.(JP) then teamed up Yoshinori Takezawa (JP) to produce a breath-taking remix with delicate piano lines, violin melodies and dreamy sampling. And the talented Hior Chronik (GR) wrapped up the album nicely with a skillfully executed dance remix.

We hope you will enjoy these 67 minutes of exquisite music. And sleep well…


01. cutter
02. the mellow one
03. golden hummingbird
04. how's your 401k
05. the modern guide
06. betrwayx
07. interlude
08. cutter (aus remix)
09. the mellow one (Geskia! remix)
10. golden hummingbird (Ametsub remix)
11. how's your 401k (Lorin Sylvester Strohm remix)
12. the modern guide (Poplamb & Yoshinori Takezawa remix)
13. betrwayx (Hior Chronik remix)

Shipping times

CD (mnc012)

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Shipping prices

We calculate your shipping costs by taking the heaviest item in your order and calculating that at the 'Heaviest Item' price. Each additional item in your order is then charged at the 'Additional Item' price.

So, because you currently don't have anything in your cart the shipping cost for For Your Home Or Office by Park Avenue Music will be the 'Heaviest Item' price for the format you choose:

Format 'Heaviest Item' Price 'Additional Item' Price
CD £0.00 £0.00
Note: Our definition of 'Western Europe' is Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, or Switzerland.
Format 'Heaviest Item' Price 'Additional Item' Price
CD £2.25 £0.65
Note: Our definition of 'USA / Canada / Rest of world is' any country that IS NOT Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland or United Kingdom.
Format 'Heaviest Item' Price 'Additional Item' Price
CD £2.60 £0.90

A shipping calculator is provided on the shopping cart page. To find out more about shipping visit our shipping prices and policies page.